Sabbatical day 64 (London)

We had a top din dins last night at The Pharmacy 2, Newport St, on the back streets of Vauxhall. What a cool place, I never went to the original in Nottinghill, it closed quite a few years ago as it made a lose, but they sold off the decor which made them a huge profit in the end.

The place is what it says on the tin, it’s like walking into a Pharmacy with pill wallpaper, bar with every prop under the sun from a hospital encased in the glass bar top, pill shaped tops to the bar stools & every drug under the sun on display. The place is designed by Damien Hirst & the menu by Mark Hix, a dream combo. The window artwork is based on Hirst’s own DNA.

image

The food lived up to the decor. Steak Tartar, Heaven & Earth (Boar Black Pudding), Linguine of Portland Crab & chilli, Swainson House Farm buttermilk chicken with aspapagus salad, Sugar pit rib of beef with Somerset cider cabbage were all highlights on our table, nothing disappointed if I’m honest. Only the waiter taking the last 1/2 glass of red wine left in our bottle, noted by eagle eyed Scouse & no Provence Rose on wine list.

Hit morning pilates at Samsara then walked over the Fulham via Putney as it was such a beautiful day and needed some sun on my face again.

image

Met Jo for a green smoothie in Local Hero before taking on her lunchtime Power Yoga session, a bit of a challenge with new poses I’d not experienced in Thailand.  There was rather a lot of wobbling and watching my neighbour.

image
Loving JJ’s bump & onesie!

Then I hot footed to Knightsbridge to get my Dubai duty free watch mended (broken strap!) before I treated myself to a final little pamper, a facial at Linda Meredith on Beauchamp Place, recommended by Conde Nast and they were so right. The place is nearly impossible to find unless you’re in the know. A little door with a small sign. It’s very understated inside, but a gorgeous heated bed with a duvet to snuggle under before my 90min bespoke facial inc neck massage. It was magical and I feel plumped, radiant & an even skin tone. It wasn’t until I was chatting to my lovely therapist Sarie afterwards that I realised I’d just experienced what her regular clients inc Kate Moss, Gwyneth Paltrow, Madonna, Sienna, Vicky B, Colin Firth to name a few have on a regular basis!

No make up selfie for you lucky people….not sure I’m quite Gwyneth or Rosemund Pike!!! But me skin looks champion & all traces of old Aussie suncream gone!

image

Was so sorry to hear about Ronnie Corbett, he would have been high up on my fantasy celeb dinner guest list.

3 days to go…..reality is rapidly creeping closer and I don’t like.

C X

 

Leave a comment